First Advisory Board Meeting in history of Grootfontein:

The inaugural meeting of the Advisory Board of Grootfontein College of Agriculture was held on 23 November 2018.

The Advisory Board is a new structure, required in terms of the Governance and Financing Framework for Agricultural Training Institutes, with the objective of assisting the principal and staff of the colleges and to ensure that the institutions are properly run.

Members of the Grootfontein Advisory Board are appointed by the Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries and are representative of the wider college community and its stakeholders.  The board consists of nine external voting members, six internal voting members (Grootfontein staff and students) as well as other members of Grootfontein Management who attend meetings of the board as non-voting members.

During the first meeting of the Board, Mr. Petrus de Wet was elected as chairperson and Mr. Steve Batyi as vice-chairperson. 

Front row:  Mr. Thamsaqo Matoto (Inxuba Yethemba Municipality), Mr. Steve Batyi (AFASA), Mr. Themba Cebani (Grootfontein), Ms Albertinah Tshikungulu (Grootfontein), and Ms. Lindokuhle Gwala (Universities SA).

Second row: Mr. Luyanda Mpoposhe (AFASA); Mr. Philemon Ngala (Grootfontein Labour), Mr Andre Elie (Grootfontein), Mr. Wiseman Goqwana (EC Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform) and Mr. Petrus de Wet (Alumni).

Back row: Mr. Johan Wege (AgriSA), Mr. Tino Herselman (Grootfontein) and Mr. Eben du Plessis (AgriSA).
Ms. Roberta  Burgess (NC Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development) also attended the meeting (absent in picture).